The Hooters David Uosikkinen’s MINDMAP from WHYY’s NewsWorks.com

Posted on Monday, January 3, 2011

0


MINDMAP  is a profile of what a person reads, watches or listens to feed their mind and navigate life.

David Uosikkinen

Occupation Drummer for The Hooters

Quotation to Live By:
“People seldom do what they believe in. They do what is convenient, then repent.” — Bob Dylan
Books on my nighstand now:
“Life,” by Keith Richards, “The Reversal,” by Michael Connelly, “The Girl Who Played with Fire,” by Stieg Larsson, “The Autobiography,” by Bill Bruford.
Favorite Author(s), fiction or non-fiction:
Michael Connelly, David Halberstam
A few favorite poets:
Jim Carroll, Marty Watt
Book(s) that influenced how I live my life:
“Big Book,” “The Music Lesson,” by Victor Wooten, “Zen Guitar,” by Philip Toshio Sudo, “A New Earth,” by Eckhart Tolle.
If I could order all of Philadelphia to read one book, it would be this and here’s why:
“The Music Lesson,” by Victor Wooten. It’s not so much a lesson in music but a lesson in living life.
TV shows that I happily admit I watch:
60 Minutes and ESPN’s REDZONE.
TV show that’s my secret, guilty pleasure:
48 Hours Mystery
Movies that I watch again whenever I get the chance:
Big Fish, Pulp Fiction, Being There
Magazines I read regularly:
Newsweek and Time
Favorite Websites:
songsinthepocket.org and puremusic.com
Favorite Twitter Feeds:
thelatestdish
I’ll be your Facebook friend if….:
you want
If I could have dinner with one famous person, this is who and here’s the question I’d be dying to ask:
I’d have dinner with Ringo. I’d like to ask him where the “one” (downbeat) is on the intro of “Drive My Car.”
Heroes from history:
JFK, Martin Luther King, Bill Wilson, Muhammad Ali, John Lennon
Person in my field I most admire:
Richie Hayward
If you turned on my car radio right now, it’d be tuned to:
WXPN
Last concert I attended:
Roger Waters
Favorite musical performer(s) or composer(s):
Roger Waters, Bruce Springsteen, The Rolling Stones, Prince, The Beatles
Music I play to lift my soul:
John Hiatt, James Taylor
Favorite painter or painting:
Bo Bartlett
Favorite Vacation Spot:
Lahti, Finland
The top item on my “bucket list” of things to do before I die is:
I’d go on an African safari

 

