24 Hours in Philadelphia: A Romantic Getaway On Rittenhouse Square

Posted on Sunday, February 12, 2012

2


24 Hours in Philadelphia: A Romantic Getaway On Rittenhouse Square

With the winter doldrums in full swing, I wanted to come up with a fun way to celebrate David’s birthday.

Since we both love Rittenhouse Square, I thought that I would treat us (I mean him) to a romantic getaway in Center City Philadelphia. Sticking to a budget was key. So, I decided to see what the rates were like. The Radisson Plaza-Warwick Hotel had the best rates by far. And I knew from past stays that it was a fine hotel with the perfect location to Rittenhouse Square.

Our day started out snowy and cold…

But, as we headed out on our adventure, the snow stopped as we made our way onto the Schuylkill Expressway.

And as we got closer to the city, I could swear the sun was beginning to break through. But, it was probably just wishful thinking on my part.

We arrived at the Warwick at 1:30pm and snapped a few photos on the way in…

I’m still thinking that the sun was going to pop through the clouds. But, maybe not.

While I checked in, David relaxed in the lobby and did some people watching.

Our room was warm and cozy. David loved the robe and the slippers. Although, the slippers didn’t do anything for me.

We picked our sides of the bed and unpacked.

The view was great! I think we even caught a glimpse of sunshine from behind the clouds.

It was 2:00pm and we were hungry and ready for lunch. David had never been to Parc, so we headed over to Rittenhouse Square.

As we waited for our window table, Stephen Starr walked in. It’s been quite a few years since David and The Hooters played Stephen’s old Ripley Music Hall. So,  it was cool running into him!

Our table was perfect!

And the view of Rittenouse Square was beautiful!

And of course we had to get that big fat BURGER & FRIES!!! Not one. But two burgers…David didn’t want to share his.

And it rocked! I was kinda happy that I didn’t have to feel guilty about getting my own burger 😉

After eating our way into a food coma, our server surprised David with a birthday sparkler in a parfait glass of meringue cookies!

Unfortunately, being in the food coma, I missed the sparkler photo opp.

It was time to walk off the burger. So, we headed into The Square.

David wanted to use his birthday Barnes & Noble gift card from my mother.

I wanted to go to Barney’s Co Op. Too bad Barney’s wasn’t in our budget.

We turned left on to 18th street and came upon Dandelion, another one of Stephen Starr’s places.

We had never been there. So, decided to have a look inside.

What a great looking place. It’s definitely on our list for next time.

David did a little window shopping. And I did a little spring shopping 😉

All of that eating, walking and window shopping was exhausting. So, we decided to have a cup of joe at The Coffee Bar back at The Warwick.

I think all that caffeine went to our heads 😉

Time for a little siesta before dinner. The sun never did come out and as the evening progressed the snow showers started to fall.

We decided to spend a romantic night at the hotel and have dinner at Tavern 17 right inside the Radisson-Warwick.

I told the staff we were celebrating David’s birthday and we scored another table by the window!

And just as we sat sat, a great little jazz band started to play.

We ordered off of the Valentine’s Day menu…

Blackened Lamp Chops, Brussels Sprouts & Filet Oscar…Oh my!

And cheese cake with a candle for dessert!

Photo opp!!!

After dinner, David was invited to sit in with the band.

I just love watching him play those pots and pans!

What a wonderful way to end the night!

And what a great stay we had. The staff, service and accommodations were fantastic. We’d definitely go back.

We couldn’t end our little getaway without having yet another meal. So, on our way out of town, we decided to stop at Bistro St Tropez for brunch/lunch. Bistro is tucked away on the 4th floor in the Design Center at 2400 Market Street.

A beautiful view, great food and a handsome and talented French chef/owner, Patrice Rames.

It’s hard to say no to those burgers and fries! We also shared

Grilled filet tips with wild mushrooms, caramelized onions, truffle oil and melted brie. YUM!

As our 24 hours came to an end, David got back to business…

And we got back on the road home…And the sun finally did come out!

What a nice way to celebrate David’s birthday. Happy birthday, Honey!

