24 Hours on Philadelphia’s Rittenhouse Square

Posted on Tuesday, February 5, 2013


The Get Hip Tour: 24 Hours on Philadelphia’s Rittenhouse Square

…A super stay for the Super Bowl

Screen Shot 2013-02-05 at 10.28.53 AM

Since David’s birthday is just two days before Valentine’s Day, we started the tradition of taking a romantic 24 hour trip each year. This year was a little different because David will be spending his birthday and Valentine’s Day getting a new hip. Hence, The Get Hip Tour. It seems that over 40 years of drumming (30 years with The Hooters) has taken its toll on his hipness.


We love the city and thought it would be fun to take the 30 minute drive into Center City Philadelphia. What I didn’t realize, was that I booked our trip for Super Bowl Sunday…Oops! Oh well! David was a sport about it and off we headed.


We pulled into town about noon on Sunday. The streets were unusually quiet.


I wasn’t sure if it was the really cold weather or if folks were getting ready for the Super Bowl.


 We pulled onto Rittenhouse Square, unloaded the car and settled in for a very special celebration of food, fun, and well, football.


It’s interesting that we native Philadelphians rarely get to experience the city’s hotels.

What a treat it was to stay at Philadelphia’s premiere hotel, The Rittenhouse.


And we took every opportunity to document this very special stay.


I heard that it was a good idea to ask if there was the possibility of an upgrade. So, I did.

And the nice man at the reception desk, upgraded us to a deluxe room with a view of Rittenhouse Square.


While I was checking in, David was checking out…Lacroix’s menu.


But before our eating frenzy begins, let’s see that room overlooking the square!  Very nice!


Fit for a king (and a princess)!


A room with a view!


After settling in, we decided to take a little tour of The Rittenhouse Hotel. The gift shop was stocked with everything from lozenges to luggage.


Lacroix at The Rittenhouse is one of the best restaurants in Philadelphia!


We peeked in and the entrance was spectacular!


The dining room has a beautiful view of Rittenhouse Square.

We will definitely be back to experience Chef Jon Cichon’s menu and fine dining at its best.


 But first, it was time for a walk around Rittenhouse Square.


And time to do a little damage at Anthropologie.



I asked some of my restaurant blogger friends where we should have lunch. Every one of them suggested Dandelion.


 David went for the classic, Lamb Sheperd’s Pie with mashed potatoes, cheddar and winter vegetables.


I chose the Burger with vermont sharp cheddar, brooklyn brine pickles, apple smoked bacon and churchill sauce.

I have never seen anything so beautiful!


And so big…Oh my!!! That’s a scary shot!


I mentioned that we were celebrating David’s birthday. It was a great excuse for this

salty and sweet chocolate pot of heaven with peanut butter ice cream.

Can I have some more, please?


Incredibly full, fat and happy we took a walk along Walnut street and stumbled upon my favorite jewelry store…


LAGOS! I was already sporting two LAGOS rings and the signature Key pendant. So, thought it was best to keep walking.


David started hinting that it was Super Bowl Sunday and wanted to head back to The Rittenhouse for a little pre-game action (yawn).


When we returned to the room, a cold bottle of champagne and a little blue Tiffany’s birthday cake awaited us!

David went for the TV. I went for the cake and champagne!


Men and football…


 The room sported a large screen TV, perfect for David’s Super Bowl viewing pleasure.


But before he got too comfortable, it was time for an early dinner…


 …And another walk across the square to Rouge.


My old stomping grounds, a Philadelphia landmark…And arguably the best burger in town!


We scored a great table by the window (notice the sports lingo) and watched the world go by.


David got the New England Clam Chowder. I got the Garlic Shrimp to start.


Happy birthday, David! Happy Valentine’s Day, too!


The famous Rouge Burger did not disappoint! Gimme some of those French Fries!!!


I decided on the Pork Chop Milanese, one of my all-time favorites.


Rouge is still as lovely today as it was years ago. I spent many nights there when I worked on Rittenhouse Square. Our server, Bob was great. It turns out, he is a drummer, too!


Another reason to celebrate David’s birthday…Chocolate Chip Bread Pudding with vanilla gelato and caramel sauce!


Thanks for a great night, Rouge! Time to watch some football!!!


Another walk across the square…


We got back just in time to watch the Half Time show at Smith & Wollensky. I’m not sure who loved Beyonce more, me or David!


Then it was time for the game. I think something exciting just happened.


Instant replay, incase I missed it the first time.


Time for bed and one last look at beautiful Rittenhouse Square.


Good morning! I like brushing my teeth and watching the news at the same time!

I loved the little green frog, too! I wonder if they sell them at the gift shop downstairs?


A crisp morning walk on Walnut Street to yet another meal!


For almost 35 years Little Pete’s has been serving up the best breakfast around. Looks like they lost their S on the sign!


Love Little Pete’s retro look!


 A cup of hot tea to warm up a very chilly me.


Me looking and feeling extremely bloated while chowing down on scrambled eggs, cheese omelet, bacon, hash browns and toast.

It’s always great at Little Pete’s.


Time to head back to The Rittenhouse, pack up and head back to the ‘burbs.


What a wonderful way to celebrate David’s birthday, Valentine’s Day, and um, the Super Bowl.

Thanks Rittenhouse Hotel. Now it’s time for that Get Hip Tour! First stop, Pennsylvania Hospital!


Dallyn & David